Get the latest weather forecast!


Contact Information

OFFICE: (912) 537-9203
FAX: (912) 537-4477
WVOP: (912) 537-9202
WTCQ: (912) 538-9898
WYUM: (912) 538-1017

Cameron Asbell

Several individuals in our community have garnered state recognition  her contributions to their  profession and the community, and one of the recent honorees has earned accolades that she wasn’t expecting.

Cameron Asbell, Director of the Ohoopee Regional Library, was recently selected as the 2022 Georgia Librarian of the Year, and was nominated for the award from an unknowns source.

“There are 60 library systems in the State so there are 60 librarians,” she said. “I watch them and look up to them so I was expecting that one of them would be chosen. I am truly honored.”

Recipients of Georgia Public Library awards are selected from nomination submitted by library patrons, trustees, Friends of Libraries groups, and staff.  The recipients represent the best and brightest who serve in public libraries throughout the State of Georgia.

Asbell has been the Director of the Ohoopee Regional Library System since April 2016, but began her career at the IT/Catalog Librarian with the local public library in November 2015.

“I actually became the Director in April 2016, but not before I turned it down three times,” she says. “I didn’t think I was qualified. But I’ve bumbled through and been pretty lucky but then, I also have a great Board and a community who realizes the importance of a public library.”

Being a librarian requires a Master’s degree in Library Information Science, and when Asbell acquired her six-year degree, her focus on in Information Technology.

“Librarians have to be licensed with the Secretary of State’s Office so that means we have to pass an exam, reapply for our license every two years and with that, 20 hours of Continuing Education. We have to keep the license in good standing meaning we can’t commit any felonies because once that license is suspended, it’s gone forever.”

Meet The Staff

  • General Manager

    Listen to WVOP

    Jeff Raiford

  • Program Director

    Listen to WTCQ

    Bob Roberts, WTCQ

  • Program Director

    Listen to WYUM

    Jim Perry, WYUM

  • Traffic / News Director


    Kathy Hilt