Use the form below to filter for articles containing certain key words. Use the calendar on the right for articles published during a certain Month, Year.

July 10--  Three small towns in Montgomery County may lose out on collecting sale tax proceeds for the next ten years starting in January.

State law requires that towns must provide at least three of six basic services in order to collect local option sales tax revenue. Those servces are water, sewer, garbage collection, police and fire protection and library services.

The towns of Tarrytown, Alston and Higgston are in the process of making sure they can qualify and will be required to certify their eligibility. 

The Montgomery County Commission has called a meeting July 23rd to finalize plans on sharing the sales tax.