Category: A - Newsbreaks
Hits: 695

August 26--  Here's who qualified for what office in area municipal elections on November 5.

Mount Vernon

Incumbent Mayor Joey Fountain is facing opposition from Mackey A. Hill.

Four candidates running for three at-large city council seats are incumbents Pete Horton and John Roller and newcomers Nakia Brazell and Elizabeth Williams.  Incumbent Charlie Williams is not running for re-election.

Craig Snead is running unopposed to complete a two-year term for the seat he gave up when he ran unsuccessfully for county magistrate last year.


Four people are running for three at-large seats on the Uvalda City Council.  They are John Carpenter and incumbents Arren Moses, Janice Braddy and Bennie Sammons.

Uvalda voters may also vote November 5 to extend Sunday alcohol sale hours.  Currently the hours are from 12:30 to 6 p.m., however, Ladson's Food Mart would like the hours extended to midnight.  A petition is currently circulating to get the question on the November 5th ballot. 


Higgston's incumbent Mayor Donna Powell is not seeking re-election.  Jesse Ledford and Christopher McLendon have qualified for the office.

Five people have qualified for the five at-large city council seats including Travis Coxwell and Angela Wheeler Wynns Smith and incumbents Shirley McCord, Jerry Powell and Ed Wonn.


There's no need for an election in Ailey because there are no contested races.

Incumbent Mayor James Mitchell Fulmer, Jr. is unopposed.  Erica Harrison is running for the Post 5 seat being vacated by Cress Hardeman and incumbent Mindy Thigpen is unopposed for the Post 6 council seat.


Likewise, there's no city election in Soperton November 5.

Incumbent Mayor Royce Fowler has no opposition.

Ward 2 incumbent Johnny B. Johnson is unopposed and Misty Brantley is running without opposition for the Ward 5 seat being vacated by John Koon.