Use the form below to filter for articles containing certain key words. Use the calendar on the right for articles published during a certain Month, Year.

February 6--  Voters in Montgomery County will vote in four school board districts instead of five in future elections.

At a called meeting Monday, the Montgomery County Board of Education approved revised voting districts for school board members.  The new districts are the same as those approved previously for county commissioners by the Montgomery County Commission.

The main change is the combining of the Mount Vernon and Ailey districts into one voting precinct.  The new consolidated district will have two school board members, Post One and Post Two.

Post One, currently represented by Jackson Posey, will be on the general election ballot in November.  Also on the ballot will be the Alston-Higgston district seat currently held by Deloris James and the Kibbee-Tarrytown seat held by Lendle Hamilton.