Use the form below to filter for articles containing certain key words. Use the calendar on the right for articles published during a certain Month, Year.

August 22-- Twelfth District Congressman John Barrow loses his home county of Chatman County in the congressional redistricting map revealed Monday at the state capitol in Atlanta. 

Republican Congressman Jack Kingston of Savannah picks up all of Chatham under the proposal while Barrow retains all of Richmond County.  Congressman Barrow carried huge majorities in both Richmond and Chatham counties to defeat Republican Ray McKinney in the 2010 election.

The new map would also remove five other counties which voted for Barrow to other congressional districts.  They are Baldwin, Hancock, Jefferson, Warren and Washington counties.

Counties added to the new 12th District include south Columbia County and all of Laurens, Coffee, Appling, Jeff Davis, Telfair and Wheeler Counties.

U.S. Congressman John Barrow (GA-12) issued the following statement in response to the reapportionment maps released today by the Georgia State Legislature:

“This isn’t the first time the folks in Atlanta have put politics above the interests of the people I represent… and I doubt it will be the last.  But I’ve always believed that working hard for the people trumps politics every time. 

“Our country is facing a number of critical challenges, from cutting spending and getting our fiscal house in order to helping small business succeed and creating new jobs in our district.  As Washington prepares to return from the district work period, these challenges will be at the front of my mind, and I plan to continue approaching my public service in the same way I’ve always done: by listening to the concerns of my constituents, working to come up with smart solutions to their challenges, and putting their interests ahead of party or politics. 

“I look forward to getting to know the new constituents drawn in to Georgia’s 12th District, and building on the friendships I’ve formed with folks who still call the 12th District home.” 

  The following release is from the Georgia Senate Press Office. 

"The House and Senate Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Committee Chairmen, Rep. Roger Lane (R-Darien) and Senator Mitch Seabaugh (R-Sharpsburg), released their proposed plan for the state’s Congressional Districts today. The proposed plan is available on the Joint Reapportionment Office Website at, Joint Offices, Reapportionment; or by clicking this link, or by following this web address:

The plan:

·        Complies with the US Constitution’s requirement of “one person, one vote”;

·        Complies with the Voting Rights Act of 1965;

·        Respects the boundaries of counties and precincts;

·        Consists of compact districts; and

·        Respects communities of interest;

“Every step taken during this historic process has shown our dedication to openness and fairness,” said Sen. Mitch Seabaugh, Chairman of the Senate Redistricting and Reapportionment Committee. “Citizens across our state met us at hearings to speak about the creation of a Congressional plan that properly represents them. This map represents their voices. I applaud Chairman Lane for his dedicated leadership in the House. We worked together to construct a Congressional plan that is fair and legal, and one that every Georgian can be proud of.”

“The proposed Congressional map released today is fair, sensible and the product of a great amount of input from Georgians throughout the state,” said Rep. Roger Lane, Chairman of the House Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Committee. “Like the House redistricting plan this body passed last week, Republicans are continuing to fulfill their promise to draw maps that fairly represent the people of this state.”

The map fully complies with the principles adopted by the House and Senate committees during the summer.  The deviation from the ideal district size is plus or minus one person as required by federal law.   The map fully complies with the Voting Rights Act with four districts of more than 50% African-American population.

            The proposed plan splits 15 counties compared to the 20 counties split under the state’s current congressional map and the 34 counties split under the 2001 plan. Additionally, the plan proposed today splits fewer than 30 precincts. The districts are also more compact than the current congressional map and maintain an average of 67.5% of the existing district cores."