Category: A - Newsbreaks
Hits: 1560

June 28--  The State Board of Education today approved State School Superintendent Dr. John Barge’s recommendation to grant State-Chartered Special School status to nine schools and local Charter status to two schools. These schools make up 11 of the 16 schools originally formed as Commission Charter Schools. The Commission was recently ruled unconstitutional by the Georgia Supreme Court.  

“Today’s action by the State Board ensures that the students affected by the recent Supreme Court decision will still get to go to the school they originally chose,” said Superintendent Barge. “We said from the beginning that we would offer flexibility so the Commission Schools could continue educating students next year and the board’s courageous vote today guarantees that.”

The nine schools approved as State-Chartered Special Schools are Atlanta Heights Charter School, Charter Conservatory for Liberal Arts and Technology, Coweta Charter Academy, Fulton Leadership Academy, Pataula Charter Academy, Cherokee Charter Academy, Georgia Connections Academy, Heritage Preparatory Academy, and Provost Academy.  Ivy Preparatory Academy and the Museum School at Avondale Estates were approved as locally charter schools.  

Of the five remaining Commission schools, Georgia Cyber Academy and the Odyssey school were approved as one State-Chartered Special School at the June 9th State Board meeting.  The final three Commission schools - Peachtree Hope Charter School (submitting a new application to DeKalb County Schools for a locally approved charter), Chattahoochee Hills Charter School and Heron Bay Academy (delaying opening until 2012) - will come before the State Board at a later date.