Use the form below to filter for articles containing certain key words. Use the calendar on the right for articles published during a certain Month, Year.

March 6--  House Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge) announced today the appointment of the following members of the Georgia House of Representatives to the Georgia Rail Passenger Authority Overview Committee:

·        Representative David Knight, chairman (R-Griffin)

·        Representative Mark Hatfield (R-Waycross)

·        Representative Tommy Smith (R-Nicholls)

·        Representative Michael Harden (R-Toccoa)

·        Representative Greg Morris (R-Vidalia)

The Georgia Rail Passenger Authority Overview Committee is a committee composed of state representatives and state senators established under O.C.G.A. 28-10-1.  The overview committee is charged with reviewing the operations, contracts, safety, financing, organization, and structure of the Georgia Rail Passenger Authority.  It also periodically reviews and evaluates the authority to ensure its legislatively created purposes are accomplished successfully.

The overview committee is composed of five members of the House of Representatives and five members of the Senate.  The Speaker of the House makes appointments for the House and the Lieutenant Governor makes appointments for the Senate.  The members of the overview committee serve terms concurrent with their terms as members of the General Assembly.  Additionally, the Speaker of the House appoints a chairman from the members appointed from the House and the Lieutenant Governor appoints the vice-chairman of the committee from the members appointed from the Senate.