Use the form below to filter for articles containing certain key words. Use the calendar on the right for articles published during a certain Month, Year.

December 12-- Today the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia (USG) granted final approval for the creation of two new institutions through consolidation.

Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University will be consolidated as the new Georgia Southern University. Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College and Bainbridge State College will be consolidated as the new Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College (ABAC).

The board approved resolutions making both consolidations effective Jan. 1, 2018.

The board’s action today follows the recent approval by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) of the Georgia Southern University and Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College consolidation plans.

With the board’s action, Georgia Southern University and ABAC will begin operating as new institutions with expanded missions and degree offerings.

With the completion of the consolidations, the number of institutions in the University System of Georgia is reduced from 28 to 26. Prior to the launch of the consolidation initiative in 2011, the University System of Georgia was comprised of 35 colleges and universities.