Use the form below to filter for articles containing certain key words. Use the calendar on the right for articles published during a certain Month, Year.

April 20-- Attorney General Chris Carr today announced an addition to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition of firearms licenses from other states. Legislation initially passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of states which recognized Georgia firearms permits.

The state of Virginia has determined that it will honor Georgia firearms permits for Georgia license holders 21 years of age or older.  Therefore, effective immediately, Georgia recognizes firearms permits issued by Virginia.

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia*, West Virginia, Wisconsin* and Wyoming.

As always, Georgia firearms permit holders should familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they wish to exercise their rights.

*Virginia and Wisconsin recognize only those Georgia licenses issued to persons 21 years of age or older; Georgia recognizes all Virginia and Wisconsin licenses.