Category: A - Newsbreaks
Hits: 2906

July 4-- At the Southeastern Technical College Board of Directors’ year-end meeting at Flat Creek Lodge in Swainsboro, the board honored four directors who were attending their final meeting.

{mosimage}(L-R) David Smith, Pollyann Martin, Kenny Griffin, Erma Jenkins and Martin Moses—ending his term as chairperson—receive gifts honoring their service to the STC Board of Directors.  

Kenny Griffin, manager of Georgia Power Company’s Swainsboro office, first became a board member in 2004 at Swainsboro Technical College, and has been heavily involved with technical education ever since, attending a long list of conferences and events around the state and becoming the first chair of STC’s board after merging with Swainsboro Tech.

Erma Jenkins was appointed to Swainsboro Tech’s board in 2002 and, within two years, became the chair of the Swainsboro Technical College Board of Directors. Jenkins, the Emanuel County School System superintendent, worked with four different presidents during her time at Swainsboro Tech and Southeastern Tech, serving terms as vice-chairperson and chairperson on both boards.

Pollyann Martin, a broker at The Temples Company in Vidalia, has represented Toombs County on STC’s board since 2003. Her dedication to technical education in Georgia is evidenced in the list of positions she’s held: Technical College Directors’ Association of Georgia (TCDA) treasurer in 2005, TCDA vice president in 2006, TCDA president in 2007, TCDA past president in 2008, first vice chair of merged Southeastern Tech board, and STC board chair from 2010-2011.

David Smith began his term on the STC Board of Directors in 2010. The following year, Smith, the director of purchasing at Rotary Corporation in Glennville, became a TCDA-certified board member and he finished his three year term with the meeting at Flat Creek Lodge.